Esocid Technical Committee

Screen Shot 2015-06-06 at 2.43.33 PM


  • To encourage and coordinate research leading to the development of functional management strategies toward the wise use of esocid stocks
  • To advance the knowledge of esocid ecology
  • To improve culture techniques
  • To provide a forum in which pertinent data and technologies can be exchanged within the scientific community and among user groups

The Esocid Technical Committee is seeking applications for a student travel grant, The Esocid Award

Details for this travel grant are available HERE.  

Deadline: The deadline for receipt of completed applications by the ETC Scholarship Chair is January 1, 2024 to be eligible for the Midwest Fish and Wildlife Conference and June 1, 2024 to be eligible for the National AFS Meeting.

E-mail application materials to: Jordan Weeks at [email protected] with the subject line “Esocid travel award application”.


2023 Esocid Award Winner:  The first recipient of this $250 scholarship was Sadie Swindall. Sadie is a graduate student in Environmental Science and Policy master’s program at the University of Wisconsin- Green Bay. This spring she will be working as a research assistant under Dr. Patrick Forsythe in his Aquatic Ecosystems and Fisheries Laboratory. Her research focuses on monitoring Northern Pike spawning and movement using acoustic telemetry in wetlands surrounding Green Bay. Sadie used the scholarship to attend a Great Lakes Acoustic Telemetry Observation System (GLATOS) meeting in Ann Arbor, MI. At that meeting she attended training sessions and workshops that relate to her research including: sessions using R statistical software, an introductory course on telemetry, and a surgery workshop, all of which will help her do great esocid research.

Special thanks to the Muskellunge Clubs Alliance of Wisconsin, the Capital City Chapter of Muskies Inc., and the Michigan Muskie Alliance for their generous donations.  Without donors, this scholarship would not exist!



ChairJonah Dagel, from Minnesota DNR

Chapter Representatives

Dakotas: Brian Blackwell  Minnesota: Mike Habrat 
Illinois: Joe Parkos Missouri: Mike Anderson
Indiana: Nick Haunert
Nebraska: Keith Koupal 
Iowa: Jonathan Meerbeek  Ohio: Curt Wagner 
Kansas: Micah Davis
Michigan:  Addie Dutton Wisconsin: Jordan Weeks 
Southern Division Rep:  Jeff Hansbarger  

2019 Joint Meeting of the Centrarchid, Esocid, and Walleye Technical Committees – NCDAFS

Meeting notes are HERE


State and Provincial Reports:

2023 State Updates HERE

2022 State Updates HERE

2020 State Updates HERE

2019 State Updates HERE

2018 State / Provincial Updates HERE

2007-2008 Ed Braun, Indiana 2015-2017 Cory Kovacs, Michigan
2008-2009 Jim Diana, Michigan 2017-2018  Janice Kerns, Ohio
2009-2010 Rod Pierce, Minnesota 2018-2019 Keith Koupal, Nebraska
2010-2012 Jonathan Meerbeek, Iowa 2020 – 2021 Addie Dutton, Michigan
2012-2014 Dave Woods, Missouri 2022 – 2023 Jordan Weeks, Wisconsin
2014-2015 Dave Kittaka, Indiana  



2018 Missouri Muskie Management Plan


The ETC approved the following document at a 2017 Meeting: History and By-Laws of the ETC

List of presentations in past Symposia can be accessed here:

1991: Northern Pike Ecology and Management

1997: Strategies for Muskellunge Management

2002: Northern Pike Management

2005: Crossman Memorial Muskie Symposium

2016: Hugh C. Becker Muskie Symposium



Contact Jordan Weeks with Esocid Technical Committee website comments
Updated: 4/26/2022