

From the Desk of the NCD President Ramblings by Sandy February 2017

Greetings, NCD!

A big thank your goes out to our Nebraska folks for planning a great meeting. There were several new topics this year including several presentations on pollinators and agroecology, which were great to see. It was also great to see our own AFS Executive Director Doug Austen as one of the plenary speakers.

I would also like to congratulate our Chapter and SubUnit winners for this year. Our Outstanding Large Chapter was selected as Missouri. Missouri put in a lot of extra effort in 2016 with planning the National AFS Meeting in Kansas City. They also supported 10 students with over \$5300 worth of scholarships. Good job!

Our outstanding Small Chapter was selected as Indiana. Indiana hosted two annual meetings, one which was a continuing education workshop for members covering Minnow ID. They also hosted a "Fish with a Fish Head" evening at the Indiana State Fair where they taught over 150 kids to fish. Indiana has an active social media presence with over 150 members on their Facebook page. In 2016 they had 80 posts, 16 new members. They also maintain an active website and newsletter. Because of this they were also awarded the Best Communications Award. Congratulations Indiana!

This year we had six applicants for Best Subunit and it was a very difficult decision. Our awards committee could not pick just one so they selected two outstanding subunits: Ball State University and Ontario Chapter Student Subunit. Both subunits accomplished a lot and are good examples of what a small subunit (Ball State) and a subunit that covers a large geographic area (Ontario) can accomplish. Both subunits are actively engaged in recruiting new members and providing excellent professional development opportunities for their members. Congratulations to both subunits!

And the money goes to.....our outstanding Joan Duffy Award winners: Crystal Nichols (Indiana), Bethany Hoster (Illinois), Rebecca Dillon (Ohio), Brett Miller (Nebraska), and Corey Dunn (Missouri). This group are some of our outstanding up-and-coming fisheries professionals and they are making us proud.

Also deserving recognitions is our amazing Awards Committee: Marty Hamel, Sara Tripp, Jeff Koch, Hilary Meyer, and John Hoxmeier.

Stay safe,

Sandy